Pass me that dumbbell

I haven’t been posting as much lately because I’ve been focusing on other areas in my life, namely fitness. I went through some life traumas (for lack of a better term) and back in late 2007 and got super fit in 2008. Exercise was a great outlet and gave me something to focus on. At the time, I had this unending urge to expel energy and just work out, whether that be lifting weights or running. Looking back, I can see that my fitness was something I could control, at a time when there seemed like I had very little control.

When I moved downtown in 2009 (and got a boyfriend), my working out tapered off to pretty much non existent. I was definitely more fit than I was pre-2008, since I rode my bike to work every day and walked a fair bit. But I wasn’t really increasing my heart rate or sweating, two solid indicators of a decent workout.

I have been trying to get back into lifting weights since January. For a while I would go to the gym maybe once a week. By July I managed to increase my workouts to at least twice a week, and finally by August I was back up to going almost every day. I’ve incorporated long bike rides and hot yoga into my routine to try to keep things interesting.

All this working out has left me more energized, relaxed, and (moderately) fit. An unfortunate consequence of my new fitness level is that when I finally am able to sit down (after I work out, shower, make dinner, eat dinner, clean up from dinner, etc), I do not want to write a post.  I just want to relax, watch TV, read a book, google shit, etc.

This is the soul of my site (and me), in a nutshell – I get super into something, and focus all my energy on it, and other hobbies or interests take a back seat. I could say I’ll try to be better at posting more regularly, and maybe I will be. In fact I’m sure I will be at some point. But I don’t want to put pressure on myself, and I want to enjoy the things I do. So, I’ll post when I want to post, or I won’t. It’s not like I’m some super blogger extraordinaire looking for mad props.

Sidenote: I googled mad props to make sure I was using the term correctly, and found this definition on urban dictionary:

Urban dictionary definition of mad props

I don’t know why, but I find this hilarious. I picture some dude running from the bank and stopping to ask random bystanders what they thought about his robbery. Like, what’s my robbery score out of ten? 

This entry was posted in Fitness, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

