Seeing Stars

I’m talking about Stars, the Canadian band, not the balls of gas in the sky. They’re playing for free at Yonge and Dundas Square tonight as part of NXNE. My friend very nicely informed me of the concert (thanks Rob!), and we’re going to see them.

I’m actually not a huge concert fan. I find that I get kind of bored at them, and I check my watch a lot. Which is lame, because music is awesome! I think sometimes it’s because I’m tired, or the band plays songs I don’t know. I know, not the greatest of excuses. But I’m being honest! This concert will be great, because a) it’s free, and b) we can leave if it sucks/is crowded/it rains etc and go for beers instead.

I’m hoping I know most of the stuff they play tonight so I can sing along. Except I really suck at memorizing lyrics, I basically have to write the lyrics out so know them well, and I haven’t done that since I was 13. Instead I’ll sing whatever I think the words are, which probably aren’t the right ones. It’ll be loud enough that no one will hear my mistakes. (Unrelated note: I was singing in my roommate’s room in university, and she paused the song midway. Except I kept singing all the wrong words. She laughed hysterically. )

Some of my favourite Stars songs: One More Night (Your Ex-Lover Remains Dead) and Going Going Gone.  And pretty much everything from the Sad Robots EP. Who doesn’t love a little robot now and then?

What are your weekend plans? Anyone else attending any concerts (free or otherwise)?

This entry was posted in Life, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

