Past Obsession: Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Disclaimer: There are Buffy spoilers below!

My love for Buffy the Vampire Slayer is actually an ongoing obsession. The show began in 1997, when I was 13, and ran until 2003. I can’t remember when I first started watching, but I think it was near the beginning. I always liked fantasy/sci-fi type shows – I was a big X-Files fan and an avid Star Trek: The Next Generation watcher. But Buffy was aimed at me, an adolescent girl who likes (sort of) scary stuff, so it won my heart pretty quickly.

There’s lots of things to like about the show. It could be witty and light, or dark and brooding. There was fighting, monsters, witches and a love story – really, what more could you ask for? Plus there was Angel. I’m not enamoured with him now, but I’m certain that my 13 year old self was quite taken with his story.

Buffy also helped me make my first meaningful connection in university. I had just moved into residence in first year and I met my “bathroom” mate. (We had our own rooms with sinks, but we shared a shower and toilet, with a door opening from my room to the bathoom and a second door leading to her bedroom). I was hanging out in my new friend’s room and I noticed she had all the Buffy DVDs on her top shelf, hidden behind something. “Why are you hiding those!” I asked. “Buffy’s awesome!” And a friendship was born. I re-watched the entire series that year, sometimes with her, sometimes alone.

A few months ago I realized that the series was airing on MuchMore, so I started PVRing them. They were already part way through season three so I jumped in right before Graduation Day, where the gang blows the high school to bits. I watched through the college years, to Dawn’s arrival, past the whole resurrection year and finally to the final season with all the potential slayers.

I loved the show just as much now as I did back then. Yeah, it can be a little cheesy. But it was also funny and smart and dark. There are some awesome episodes in there, like The Body where Buffy finds her mom dead on the couch (which, according to the info on its Wikipedia page, is “one of the best episodes of TV of all time.”) Or the singing episode – Once More With Feeling. It’s like Glee – but before Glee! And I’m not even a big musical fan. Hush was cool too, with the creepy gentlemen taking away everyone’s voice. Who knew an episode with minimal talking could be so hilarious?

The Gentlemen

The Gentlemen. Umm, creepy!

Yes, there are some lame story lines. I was never a huge fan of the Spike/Buffy relationship in season six, although I understand that it was all about Buffy being in a bad place emotionally and causing herself pain. They redeemed the story a bit in season 7 when they made Spike more human. I know some people didn’t like the introduction of Dawn, either, but I can’t complain there – I really liked Dawn, even though she was pretty annoying at times.

I found out that they also have ongoing Buffy graphic novels. I kind of want to read them, since they carry on the whole Buffy univerise. Someone told me they have them at the public library, a good excuse for me to finally get a library card. I haven’t ever read a graphic novel before, but I liked Archie comics as a kid. So maybe I’ll like these too.

There’s a lot of reason to like Buffy. As a character, she is independent, strong, and willing to take risks. She relies on her family and close friends for support. She’s human, so she makes mistakes, but she always tries to do the right thing, even if it’s the hardest thing. (Like when she had to kill Angel!) Plus all the other characters are great. I especially loved Anya and her fear of bunnies.

The Cast of Buffy

The looks on their faces says it all.

One day I’ll buy the series and watch again. There’s nothing like a good TV show and a little nostalgia to make your night.

Are you a Buffy fan? Do you have a favourite moment in the series?

This entry was posted in Past Obsessions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Past Obsession: Buffy the Vampire Slayer

  1. Money Rabbit says:

    I was just popping by to get your url to link to my site when I saw this AMAZING post. I am a HUGE Buffy fan and the entire reason I started exercising is because I wanted to be like Buffy. I own every single season of Buffy and every single season of Angel. I am a nerd and proud of it. I think there’s so much about Buffy to be admired – her courage, her steadfastness, perseverance, and putting her friends and family first. Sarah Michelle Gellar is a goddess.

    • I never really watched Angel (except for the one or two crossover episodes they did with Buffy) but I’ve been thinking lately that I should watch. I want to see Spike come back!

      Also – link to my site?? Thanks! That is super exciting for me.

  2. No not a Buffy one but yes to TRUE BLOOD and BONES !

Leave a Reply

