WordPress.com vs WordPress.org

This is my fourth post, and I’m ready to take this obsession to the next level: wordpress.org. Or, at least, I’m thinking about it. When I was first setting the site up, I debated about paying for a .com site hosted by wordpress but the BF suggested that I go the free route, to see if I actually enjoyed it. I also didn’t really understand the difference between the .com and .org. So I set up my account online and wham, blog is here.

Now that I’ve been playing around with the different functions these past few days, I’m beginning to see the differences between the two sites. I’m really disappointed I can’t use Google Analytics. For those of you who may not be familiar with Analytics, it gives you amazing breakdowns on who comes to your site, from where, how often they click through and to what, etc. It’s awesome. I use it at work (in a very visual kind of way – as in, I look at the graphs and numbers but that’s about it) and it’s pretty neat to see the trends that appear. WordPress.com does provide some stats, but they are limited. And, while this entire project is just for fun, and I don’t really expect it to take off, I still would like to see the behind the scenes info. That’s my obsessive nature poking its head – I like to see how things transition, how they can grow from nothing into something potentially significant. It’s like when I started working out hardcore, and I measured every possible part of my body, even my calves, so I could track my growth (or shrinkage, depending on the part). And it was really amazing to measure again in a few months and actually see how all my hard work had paid off.

Secondly, I’m getting referral spam. A ton of it. I don’t really understand how that works, this blog as been around for approximately four days. Regardless, the trolls have latched onto my blog, and they are seriously messing with my stats. If I had wordpress.org, I could install a plugin to limit the spam.

Which leads to my third point – plugins in general. You can do so much more with plugins. Actually, I’m not sure what else I could do other than the two things I already mentioned, but I know they exist, and I bet there are some cool options, I just have to do the research.

Switching to the .org site does have it costs, however. There are hosting costs, plus paying for the domain name, and probably other little miscellaneous things I’m not even aware of. The most it would be is $10/mth, which isn’t too high, especially if I keep blogging. If I stop, though, then I’ve wasted that money, since most hosting sites make you sign on for at least six months to one year. I also don’t want to jump into taking on this even bigger project only to lose interest in a month or so (which, as I’ve mentioned in a previous post, is in my nature). It’s always kind of depressing to claim love for a new hobby only to realize you’re just not that into it a short while later.

Have you ever switched from a free blogging site to a pay site? What made you make the jump?

This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WordPress.com vs WordPress.org

  1. SheBloggs says:

    This is exactly what I did. I started my blog about 3 months ago and because I wasn’t sure that I would commit, I stared with a wordpress.com account. I didn’t know that I couldn’t use analytics and that was one of the biggest reasons I decided to switch to wordpress.org. It was the best decision I made!

    Not only was I able to track with more accuracy, but even the design features are better. You have more control over your blog. I decided to get another hosting company instead of just hosting with wordpress.org and the $9/month is totally worth it. Even if I don’t stick to it, I would have spent that money on coffee every month anyway.

    If you think you will eventually go the .org route, I recommend doing it sooner rather than later. Once you have readership, it’s a bit of a hassle to move.

    Good luck!

    • Daniela says:

      Thanks for the advice! I think I’m going to make the move, for exactly the reasons you outlined – I figured it would be a hassle to move everything down the road. I’ll look into it more this weekend and hopefully I can get my butt in gear and get it done!

Leave a Reply

